Connaught A deny club clean sweep

The annual Dennis Moore tournament took place at Hingham on Sunday where the club were looking to win all disciplines for the first time and were denied this in the triples by Connaught A's Diane Quadling, Sylvia Parsons and Mike Minshull who beat Pat Saunders, Steve Easter and Debbie Sparham in a tight game which was won on the last end with Mike playing two good woods to clinch the match. The singles saw Chris Mann retain the title with four comprehensive wins while the fours were involved in a tight group with Thetford. The Thetford four skipped by Nigel Bevan had beaten Wymondham but in their last match lost by a somewhat lucky Connaught bowl which saw them go out on shots to Wymondham having won their two remaining match's. The final saw Hayley Osborne, Billie Barker, John Jeffery and Melvyn Barker beat Hingham 8-5. The pairs played in the afternoon alongside the triples saw Roger Steele and Jon Sparham involved in an immensely tight group as they lost one match to Thetford's Peter Harvey and Kieran Suffolk and saw them locked with four other pairs on six points. The Wymondham pair emmerged winners by three shots over Thetford and with that confirmed they had retained the Dennis Moore trophy with 149 shots. Thanks goes to Bob Oatway for organising and Hingham for providing refreshments.